About Battery Charges in the State of Florida
The charge of simple battery is a first degree misdemeanor which is punishable up to 1 year in the county jail, up to 12 months of probation, up to a $1000 fine, aside from some mandatory surcharges as set forth by the Florida legislature.
Under Florida law, a battery is the intentional touching or striking of another against their will OR intentionally causing bodily harm to another. The Prosecutor may try to prove the charge battery EVEN if the alleged victim in the case refuses to cooperate.
In almost every battery case, there is a lot of evidence related to the charges that are only preserved for short period of time. Time is of the essence in battery case, especially in cases where there is information that the prosecutor needs to know about the victim. This may include alcohol or drug problems, anger issues, or past criminal history. Preservation of the evidence is critical, especially physical evidence of your injuries. Oftentimes, being able to provide the state attorney with pictures, statements, or other evidence tending to negate your guilt can make the difference between a dropped charge and a guilty plea.
If you have been charged with Battery anywhere in the state of Florida, call our office today to speak with one of our criminal defense attorneys during a free consultation about how we can help defend your battery case.