Florida Battery Charges
Criminal Defense Lawyers & Attorneys in Tampa, Sarasota, Orlando and St. Petersburg
There are several other types of battery cases under Florida law. They include:
1. Battery on detention of commitment facility staff or a juvenile probation officer.
Pursuant to Florida statute 784.075 this battery is a felony of the third degree, punishable by up to 5 years in the Florida Department of Corrections.
2. Battery on Health Services Personnel-Florida statute 784.076 mandates that a juvenile who has been committed to or detained by the Department of Juvenile Justice pursuant to a court order, who commits a battery on a health services employee, will be charged with a felony of the third degree. Health services means preventive, diagnostic, curative, or rehabilitative services and includes alcohol treatment, drug abuse treatment, and mental health services.
3. Assault of Battery on Persons 65 years of age or older-This assault and battery statute has some of the harshest penalties of all assault and battery charges. The legislature has mandated that any person convicted of an aggravated battery or assault upon a person 65 years of age or older shall be sentenced to a minimum term of imprisonment of 3 years and fined not more than $10,000. Aside from paying any restitution to the victim, the Defendant is also responsible for 500 hours of community service. Aside from any prison or county jail sentence imposed by the Court, the Judge is required to adjudicate the Defendant guilty. In layman terms that means that if you plea no contest or guilty of this offense, you will be a convicted felon.
If you have been charged with Battery anywhere in the state of Florida, call our office today to speak with one of our criminal defense attorneys during a free consultation about how we can help defend your battery case.