Florida Criminal Defense
Tampa Criminal Defense
Florida's Aggressive Criminal Defense Firm

Domestic Violence

Domestic Violence offenses are taken very seriously throughout the State of Florida.

What makes a charge “domestic”?

Florida has determined that any crime involving husband/wife, ex-husband/ex-wife, boyfriend/girlfriend who live together or lived together as a couple in the past, male/female with a child in common (regardless of status of the parents relationship), same sex partners who live or has lived together as a couple, parent/child, and sibling/sibling are all considered relationships that will be defined as “domestic”.

If you are charged with a domestic violence crime it is very important you speak with an attorney before you enter any plea. By law, the Prosecutor will be required to ask for a 29 week Batterers Intervention Program as part of a resolution unless we can prove there is a legal exception to that requirement. If you fail to complete this course successfully you could be facing significant jail time. Additionally, there are mandatory fines that will be assessed in certain domestic violence crimes.

If you are arrested for a crime of Domestic Violence and were released on bond with the condition to have no contact with the victim and are found in violation of this condition you could be charged with a first degree misdemeanor punishable up to 1 year in the county jail for Violation of Pre-Trial Release.

If you have been charged with domestic violence anywhere throughout the state of Florida, call our office today.

Web Statistics